Generation €uro Students Award Finalists Announced 

Press release 4 March 2013

Tá an preasráiteas seo ar fáil as gaeilge chomh maith

The Central Bank of Ireland has announced the finalists of the Generation €uro Students’ Award for 2013 who will compete at the National Final on Monday 25 March at the Central Bank.

Transition year students from Marian College, Dublin; Midleton CBS, Cork and St. Mary’s Secondary School, Mallow have reached the final event where they will present to a panel of economists at the Central Bank, chaired by Director of Economics and Chief Economist, Lars Frisell.

Marian College in Dublin is represented by students Luke Murphy, Gary Smyth, Sean Scott, Cian Byrne and Shane Downes.  Midleton CBS, Cork is represented by students Ruairi Morrison, Kevin Fennelly, Eoghan Keniry, Tom Millerick and Ciaran Gosnell. St. Mary’s Secondary School, Mallow is represented by students Helina Debebe, Eleanor Rutherford and Niamh O’Connell.

The winning team will go on to represent Ireland at a European award event which will take place at the European Central Bank in Frankfurt, Germany in April 2013.

Director of Economics and Chief Economist, Lars Frisell said: ‘Over 260 entries from schools across Ireland took part in the competition this year and, once again, the standard of entries was highly commendable. We would like to thank the many schools, students and their teachers for taking part and for contributing to the success of the competition’.

Notes for Editors:

The Generation Euro Students’ Award is a euro area-wide initiative organised by the European Central Bank (ECB) and participating national central banks across the euro area including the Central Bank of Ireland. Further information is available at

The competition consists of three rounds including an online quiz, a group assignment and a presentation by the finalists to a panel at the Central Bank of Ireland.